Pathrado…Stuffed Greens

Pathrado

Stuffed Greens  ha… Forgive Me, but I could'nt think of any other description. You know what these are. Patra in gujarati, alu wadi in Marathi and pathrado in konkani. Well, that just about ends my vocabulary regarding these.

So, how do you go about stuffing greens? By layering them, of course. Layer them and then roll them like you would a Swiss roll and voila….stuffed greens.

Before we move on to making these, let me clarify. These are traditionally made with colocasia leaves. However, these are not available in my part of the world. I made do without them for quite a while and then a little thing called "pregnancy-craving" kicked in. I just had to have them. On an inspired and desperate shopping expedition, I visited my local grocery store and came out with the greens with the biggest leaves. My find, Collard Greens. I made these with them and they tasted really good. And after binging on fries and pizza in the name of pregnancy-cravings, I felt really healthy after having them. After the whole pregnancy thing passed me by, I made these with collard greens again. Just to make sure, it was not the pregnancy playing tricks on me. And yep, they tasted just as good. And at 99 cents per pound, they are more affordable than the actual taro leaves that I get from my occasional trip to NJ. I have continued making these with collard greens, just as I have today.

I made the traditional konkani stuffing/paste, that is applied on the leaves, as follows,

2 cups Whole Green Moong,soaked overnight

1/2 cup Coconut Gratings

a fistful of Roasted Dry Red Chillies

1/2 tsp tamarind

1/2 tsp Asafoetida

salt

Yes, you read right. A fistful of chillies. You would'nt believe how much bland a bunch of greens and green moong Dal could be. You could substitute the red chillies with fresh green chillies, again a fistful. You could substitute the 2 cups of green moong Dal with 1 cup rice + 1 cup green moong Dal or  just 2 cups rice. Grind the coconut gratings, chillies and tamarind together coarsely using very little water. Add the other ingredients and grind together into a fine paste. Use water very sparingly. Taste it. It should taste more saltier and more spicier than you like. That's when it would be perfect when rolled together with the leaves.

So, lets roll. :) oh, I kill myself with my humor. Sorry. Back to business. I use one bunch of leaves for one roll, about 10 leaves. First prep the leaves. Clean the leaves as you would any greens and then wipe each one dry. Cut the thick veins on the leaves, by folding them and cutting them off. Like so.

Collard Green

The trick to a perfectly rolled pathrado is to not get all the thick veins on top of each other. That makes the rolling that much more difficult. So you alternate it. Start with one leaf. Apply a thin layer of the paste on it. And oh, you always apply the paste on the side that is lighter in color. That's the side that the paste can adhere to. The other side rolls off the water, remember. Now, layer 2 more leaves on that first leaf, as below.

Pathrado First Step Pathrado Second step

Apply the paste. You have got a good base now. Keep layering the rest of the leaves taking care to see that you have equal layers on all side and that you are not putting the veins right on top of each other. Keep doing it till you have used all the leaves. Now, roll it up like you would a burrito. Fold the sides in first, then the bottom. Apply paste on each part that is does not have it yet. Then keep rolling, tucking the sides in with every roll till you reach the end and end up with a Swiss roll of sorts. Tuck some paste in from the sides after you finish rolling.

Fold the sides and bottomRolled togetherFrom the side

Cut them carefully, preferably with a bread knife without pressing the roll. Let the knife do the cutting. Cut them into 4 pieces and steam them till it smells like pathrado. If you don't know what its supposed to smell like, just steam it for about 12-15 mins. Don't open the steamer yet. Let it stay as is for another 10 mins. 

There is another way to cook it. Heat a 12 inch cast iron pan.(Yes, a cast iron pan. A non-stick pan would do in its absence, I guess). Heat Oil, add mustard seeds. When they sputter, add a pinch of asafoetida pwd. Place each cross section of the roll on the hot oil. You should hear a searing sound. That's the sound of good things. You want to sear a side of it like you would a piece of meat. Place all four pieces in the pan, pour water (about 1/2 cup) from around the pieces into the pan. Avoid putting the water over the rolls. Cover and cook on medium heat for about 15 mins. Remove from flame and keep covered for another 10 mins.

Slice into thin slices, about 1/2" thick, before serving. We serve them with a few drops of coconut oil poured on it and the piece with the seared side is the prize cut in our home. Delicious.

27 thoughts on “Pathrado…Stuffed Greens

  1. I made pathrado couple of months ago, when i accidently bumped into Colocasia leaves in an Asian market. I would love to make it often, but we do not go to that sore that often. I will defanitely try it out with collard. Long back, when i was in high school, i tasted this wonderful dish from a friend’s house, who has ancestral roots in Goa. I loved it right there and then, and like it even better now. Thanks for writing about it.
    Have a nice week ahead

  2. Yum yum yum! I had heard you could make pathrado with swiss chard but I love your trick even better. I had steered away from this but your recipe has given me hope :-)
    And your photo reminded me of dolmas (the middle eastern stuffed grape leaves)…isnt it surprising how similar food can be across the world?

  3. Hi Vee,
    Everytime I visit my mother-in-law (which is about twice a year), she makes this for us. With coconut oil and all. I love it. This version of yours is creative. It’s so comforting to know that somebody else in some other part of the world is having similar situations as I do, and then is coming up with ideas, which are so well-thought.
    Good work with the step-by-step photographs, too.

  4. I love these, my mom cals these as “Pan vadi” , we make them with channa dal instead of green moong dal. The idea of collard greens is great and as ashini mentioned swis chard would be great too ..

  5. Thx all, its amazing what those pregnancy cravings can drive you to :)…I like the swiss chards idea , too…well, there's always next time. And I have to find out about those dolmas….sounds good.

  6. Hi Vee,
    We do pathrode in a little different way. Your idea of using the Collard greens is great. That means even Ican try it in near future ;).

    Hey shilpa. will be looking forward to see how you make pathrado

  7. Rashmi, These are the ones that are made during festivals etc.the ones you are talking about is the Udada Pathrado. They are made with the younger, smaller leaves. The stuffing is Red chillis+Soaked udid+Hing ground together coarsely. They re made with just 3 or 5 leaves per roll and deep fried. They are oily and sooooooooooo…good. Will post them soon..Stay tuned..;)

  8. Pingback: Sugar And Spice » Alu Wadi/Pan wadi

  9. Pingback: Aayi’s Recipes » Pathrado or pathrode

  10. Thank you so very much. I am from mangalore and absolutely love pathra vado. but here in this part of U.S u dont get them. when i saw that pathrados can be made with collard greens i tried right away and it came out absolutely delicious. thanks for sharing the info…am eating the heavenly patrado as i am typing this. thanks for sharing again!

  11. Your pathrodo looks so delicious and mouth watering. Iam so happy to know that I can make it without using colocasia leaves as here in US its hard to even find one leaf. My husband also has this itchy feeling in the throat. I hope the collard green leaves dont have the itchy effect. do they? if not, Iam just going out today to hunt for some collard greens:)

  12. Pingback: Haak » jugalbandi

  13. 10 leaves?! Mercy! Still, the filling looks delicious… could that be made into a casserole instead of dealing with all that rolling do you think?

    :) Thats the way we make them at our house. I don’t have the patience to keep doing it for every 2-3 leaves, so I just put them together and make one big one ! :D
    Like a patra lasagna, you say! Not a bad idea, except that the top layer and the bottom layer cannot be greens and some other innovation required to prevent the top filling from going dry. But, if I am going to layer them, might as well roll them, don’t you think? Besides, how would you deep-fry a lasagna?

  14. Pingback: Patode/Alu Wadi (Taro Leaf Spirals) « A Mad Tea Party

  15. hi Vee,

    thanks for the wonderful narration with pics. i happened to find the actual leaves in flushing NY store and was checkin to see how I could make them like a true amchigeli. this surely meets the bill. I love when the next day you shallow fry them with the pathrados dipped in little rice powder. Thanks a ton once again.

  16. Pingback: Pathrado or pathrode | Aayi's Recipes

  17. Pingback: My Big 10 « So Whats New Today?

  18. Hi,

    Mouthwatering Pic. of Pathrode.. Had this a year back when we were Home last time! Will defenetely try to make this with Collard Greens. Great idea, Thank you for sharing. But we use Rice instead of Moong dal for Pathrode!? My Husband especially loves it when Pathrode are shallow fried in oil…. Mmmmm, I’m drooling!;-))

Leave a Reply

