Karanji…By Sharmila P

Presenting, Sharmila, whose entry karanji comes complete with step-by-step pictures!!!

image013

Hi folks,

I stumbled upon this great blogging world since a friend of mine, SaffronHut, started her blog. Since then I have been hooked. I read the blogs whenever I can find the time, in between work and kids and other things. I don’t have a blog, well at least not a food blog. I do have a blog for posting pictures and write-ups to my family. Also, with all the Diwali things and usual humdrum of life, I just read about this jihva. Since Vee is doing a post-Diwali round up I thought I’d send my entry even though it is a little late.

For Diwali, traditionally in Mumbai, India we make karangis (which we call Shingdi), nankatai, chivda, chakli and mathlele besan laadoo which is made from powdered dalia. Our (Maharashtrian Pathare Prabhu) karangi’s are a little different from the traditional Marathi Karangi’s. There are 2 kinds of fillings – 1 is made of coconut and sugar, and the other is made of dudhi halwa. And not just that but the karangis are not fried in oil but baked. My mom makes really yummy ones the traditional way where the cover is made out of wheat dough. She makes the dough into large chapati like flat rounds, then applies a thin layer of ghee to it, then another layer of a wheat chapati followed by some more ghee and a 3rd layer. That gives it the crisp flakiness when the karangis are baked in the oven.

Over the years, I have made karangis and nankatai every year for Diwali, though I have changed the recipe to suit our fast paced lives here in the US. So instead of making the cover the way my mom does, I use Pillsbury pie crust. Also, with coconut being notorious for cholesterol, I only make the dudhi halva filling.

Recipe makes 30

1 packet Pillsbury pie crush dough

Dudhi halva

2 medium sized dudhi (opo squash). After grating should be about 3.5 cups or so.

1/2 stick of butter

1.5 cups of sugar.

1 small container of non-fat ricotta cheese.

1 tsp cardamom powder

Skin the dudhis and de-seed them. Grate them in a food processor. Put a little ghee in the bottom of a pressure pan or thick bottomed pan and let it melt. Add the grated dudhis. Toss it around in the ghee. Close the pressure pan and let it cook. (No whistle). Once the dudhi looks like it is cooked, keep the pan open and let the water dry up on high heat. Then add the sugar and some cardamom powder. If you used unsalter butter, add a 1/2 tsp of salt. Mix well and let the sugar melt and get syrupy. Meanwhile put the ricotta cheese in a microwavable bowl. Spread it out so that it is in a thin layer. Microwave on high for 4-5 min. It starts to get a little crumbly. Break the crumbs up and mix it up and repeat till the mixture is dry but not brown. Add that (as the mawa) to the squash mixture and mix well. Once all the water from the sugar syrup gets evaporated, you will have your dudhi halva ready to go. It needs to be a little more on the sweet side to balance off the salty pie crust dough.

I usually make this the night before and then make the Karangi’s in the morning.

To make the karangi’s, unroll the Pillsbury pie crust and re-roll it much tighter than it was.

image001

Now cut the roll into 2cm pieces. 1 roll makes about 15.

image004

Take each piece and place it such that the rolled side is still on the sides. Press it a little bit and roll it out into a small oval puri shaped flat.

image006

Put a spoonful of the halva on 1 side near the center.

image008

Fold over the other end to make a D shaped karangi.

image010

Flute the ends of the karangi to seal them or trim with a pie cutter.

image011

Make all 15 and then bake them in a pre-heated over 375 F middle rack till they are slightly brown (takes about 20-25 minutes per batch).

7 thoughts on “Karanji…By Sharmila P

  1. Hi.
    I am a novice at cooking, and so I had thought that making sweets would jsut be a dream for me. But your recipe seems really simple and yum and also you have illustrated it so beautifully. I wil definitely try it. I do have one little doubt though . Dint really get this sentence:

    “Take each piece and place it such that the rolled side is still on the sides”

    Does it matter a lot which way the dough is placed while rolling it ? if yes then I would really appreciate it if u could explain the above line to me.

  2. This is not so good .The Karanji has to be layered ,tat needs real skill .we make it very regularly and when they are fried ti layers should be seen
    or else it is a flop
    what you have shown is rubbish

  3. many years ago i lived next door to a CKP family…. they let me help me with the Diwali sweets..that karanji was very flaky and though i ate it like 15 yrs ago it kind of burned itself in the hard disc of my brain so I got on here googling flaky karanjis…. i remember she made balls of two different dough placed them one over the other and then rolled them out.. the construction was like khari biscuit when we ate them later…you said wheat ??? i thought they were always made of maida and rawa but again maida is a refined form of wheat really…

Leave a Reply

