Aloo Broccoli

Once in a while. you want to try something different. Steer away from the everyday and jazz things up a little. Change the routine and surprise yourself. Take a detour from the simple foods that you have no recipe for, the ones where you just put a few things together subconsciously. Then there are the times where you just want to clear out the fridge.

Aloo-Gobi (Cauliflower) is a no-brainer for anyone who cooks Indian – any region. I am sure that every one of us has tried a variation of this with broccoli. My first attempt at this, I realised that I (& the family) prefer broccoli that is lightly spiced. For all its similarity in looks to the cauliflower, the broccoli has a more pronounced flavor, chlorophyll will do that to you. IMO, less is more where this pretty vegetable is concerned. My second attempt at Aloo-Broccoli was one based on the upkari-vegetables cooked konkani style with mustard seeds and a sole dry Red chilli-I changed the spices a liitle bit. It worked great and is our most favored way to eat broccoli. When more pressed for time or when trying to add healthy sides in our lunch boxes, I microwave-steam the broccoli florets with salt in a covered plate for about 3 minutes. Toss with a little bit of olive oil to coat. Pack it and feel like a domestic goddess for the rest of the day for giving a side in the lunch boxes, healthy one to boot. I give baby carrots this treatment too.

IMG_0352

Recipe

In a 10″ frying pan, take

2 tbsp of Peanut oil

warmed till the oil forms ripples, add-in quick succession-

Turmeric/tumeric/haldi-a pinch
Red Chilli Flakes – to taste, I prefer to be generous here
2 Medium potatoes, cubed

Stir to coat, cover and lower heat to medium low to cook till the potatoes are halfway cooked, about 4-5 minutes. Shake the covered pan in between to make sure they don’t stick. As soon as the potatoes are halfway cooked, add

1 cup of broccoli florets, trimmed
Black Pepper, ground, to taste
Salt, to taste

Normally, I mention salt to taste and leave it at that. But here, I would like to specify that when working with minimal flavors such as in this case, take care not to under-salt it. It also goes along without saying that you shouldn’t over-salt it. Stir gently to mix, cover and cook for another 2-3 minutes till the broccoli softens just enough. Serve with rotis or as a side with rice and Bendi/dal/curry.

15 thoughts on “Aloo Broccoli

  1. That is such a beautiful pic, Vee. I ‘ve never tried this combo before though I make broccoli-methi sometimes.
    You changed the look here, didn’t you? This looks so pretty. I also like the pic in your header.

    I love the header pic, too. Wish I could take credit for it, but can’t. With compliments from WordPress, I’m afraid.

  2. i love the new look of your site.

    Yes, I was feeling blue. No that is not right.
    I was feeling baby blue. Oh, that just doesn’t sound right.
    I was feeling Ocean-y, valley-y…OH, I give up.

  3. feeling blue??? :D love the new look and ofcourse new recipe with a twist. i am with u. we all need change and cooking is no exception

    Very true, Sia. Just jumble things up just that tiny little bit to keep things exciting. The idea is for the family to look at their dinner plate and go, “Not the usual today!”

  4. Pretty sabzi, Vee. i agree, less is more for broccoli ;). i love this combo though, its tastes so different from aloo-gobhi.

    and the new template is gorgeous :)

    and you are so right, change is a much needed spice of life :-D.

    Changes!!! Yes, it was time for a new look, too. I wanted something more monochromatic…

  5. Blue blue always cool! ;) Loved the new look….. and broccoli aloo twist is worth a try for sure…. you pic says it all. :)

    I am trying to lay off coffee for a while and you make it so tough . Everytime I visit your site or see your moniker somewhere else, I start craving for it. :((

  6. Vee…what made u go for a site-makeover? i must admit, it looks pretty n baby ‘bluuuuue’ (were u inspired wt soap detergent ad..red ko red rakhne ke liye blue?? ) :-? looks much more organised! wt the spacing … wtout any further digression…i shall try this lovely recipe..an unemployed frozen brocolli is sitting pretty in my freezer, awaiting her turn to b of service..so shall soon try and revert wt feedback! tc.

  7. Broccoli is the best,tastes so good just sprinkled woth salt and cheese.Aloo Green Gobi looks yum.Simple ones are the best sometimes:))

    I agree. I tend to steer more towards simple preparations for almost all veggies. They are so much better that way.

  8. Hi Vee, i usually, or call it always, stir fry the brocolli florets a lil bit and have them with rice along with a gravy curry. I will try this recipe of yours where you have put brocolli in a curry. A nice way :-) Will definitely try it out. Well, have added you in my blogroll.

    Hi Mona, you haven’t left your URl, so I don’t know where your blog is. Chances are I have already visited it, I am just not good at remembering names. Sorry. The stir fry is good, too. Do you add anything to it other than salt?

  9. Vee,
    Nice look, and the aloo brocolli looks so good!
    I use onions too, and it tastes just good!

    Yes, onions would be good addition, too. I was trying to keep it very simple though. You have some amazing konkani delicacies already blogged, Anu. You are fast!

  10. The picture is beautiful!
    This looks like a good recipe, to include brocoli in our diet!

    Kumudha, welcome. It is a good way to include broccoli in our everyday food. The funny thing is my kids are Ok with broccoli, it is for Hubby that I have to jump through hoops, to make him eat it. :D

  11. Vee, I made this dish and it turned out to b delicious! Tks for posting. Btw-today is the Big-Day..what u must hv cooked…I m eagerly waiting for that post…:-) Happy Birthday to Aayush!
    Rgds-Purnima.

    Hi Dear,
    Thank you so much for remembering. I will pass on the wishes. It is going to be an eggless cake (both my kids are allergic to eggs) that is already made, I am going to do a cream cheese icing on it and then the kids can go nuts with the colored icing. Any pics, I am not sure if will get a chance but I will definitely try. Aayush is currently going through the crazy-for-Prawns phase, so it is going to be Prawns Ghashi, and maybe something with chicken, will have to see. Busy, but very excited today! It is the first b’day where he actually knows that he can get away almost anything today. It is fun…

  12. Ah Vee…eggless cake..wowwww and prawns gashi yummy. Gud that today being a Saturday u have some breather! Kriti, is currently all in for chicken lollipop. She has milk and milk product allergy so only soya for her..i hv hunted successfully for a soya cream which can b whipped and used for her cake icing. I m sure you will have a beautful write up…which will make for interesting reading on Aayush’s 1st Apperceptive Birthday Bash!!
    Tks for taking time to reply. Happy 3rd bday to him again…wt lots of blessings.

Leave a Reply

