Stuffed Tomatoes in Makhani Gravy

Stuffed Tomato in a Makhani Gravy

I love making this dish for entertaining because it seems very exotic for such a simple recipe.I am breaking down the ingredients as per the steps of the recipe for simplicity’s sake. Otherwise, just the list of ingredients seem so daunting that you are discouraged from trying it. I hope I am successful in presenting the recipe as simply as it is to make.

For the stuffing, mix the following in a bowl. Add or Remove to taste. I mean, the sky’s the limit. Since I planned to serve these in a gravy, I went for simple flavors.

1 Medium sized potato, mashed

2 tbsps paneer/Firm Tofu, mashed

2 tbsps Bread Crumbs, toasted

2 Green Chillies , Finely chopped

Salt, Pepper to taste

Prep 4 firm Tomatoes by dipping them in boiling water for a minute. Remove and peel. The peel just slides off. Cut open the tops and scoop out the insides. A melon baller works great here. Completely fill the cavity with the above stuffing. Again, I did this because I planned to serve them as a main course with gravy. If I wanted to serve them as starter, I would halve them, remove the seeds and bake them in the oven with the stuffing.

Stuffed Tomatoes1

Makhani Gravy…

Pressure cook the following to 1 whistle or boil in water till soft. Blend into a paste.

1 tomato, peeled and chopped

4-5 almonds, soaked and peeled

1 clove Garlic

1 green chilli

Heat

1 tbsp of butter

in a skillet. When melted, add the following

Tomato+almond paste

1 tsp Ginger paste

1 tsp Red Chilli Powder

1 tsp Coriander/Dhania Powder

1/2 tsp Garam Masala

1 Bay leaf

Salt, Sugar, Pepper to taste.

Cook for a minute, stirring constantly and add

1 cup water

2 tbsp heavy Cream

Stuffed Tomatoes

Cover and cook for 3 mins. Finish with

Fresh Chopped coriander.

23 thoughts on “Stuffed Tomatoes in Makhani Gravy

  1. You are right…the list of ingredients is daunting! I havent had a stuffed tomato in a gravy – must be delectable, all sweet, sour and spicy?
    PS – Hope all’s fine with your family and friends in Mumbai

  2. MMMMMmmm, the stuffing is succulent and the sauce looks nice and creamy. This recipe is completely new to me. I bet it tastes as good as it looks.
    Shall try it soon. Thanx for sharing the recipe Vee !

  3. You have definitely been successful in presenting the recipe Vee, each step looks so easy that I want to get some tomatoes and try it out for dinner. I have never dreamt of stuffing tomatoes cos I’m scared I’ll massacre them..!! 😦 hmm…I see that you havent used onions at all..so no crying either 🙂

  4. ArSu, Meena, Krithika, Archana, RP,menu Today…Thank you so much. and Yes Please Go ahead, try it.

    Ashwini, don’t be daunted the ingredients list. Its pretty simple. Everyone I know made it safe back home in Bombay, thank you for asking. Was glad to read that the same applied to you.

    Both Priya’s…Go ahead try it. Its not as hard as it looks.

  5. Hi Vee,

    I wanted to know if you can use anything else instead of almonds?

    Thank you.

    You can try Cahsews, too…It will give a much more richer finish and a much stronger nutty flavor. Almonds are a little bit more subtle. Just a little bit. 🙂

  6. Hi
    I tried your recipe and it tastes awesome.
    Thnx!

    Thanks, abhishek. It is always good to know when someone tries your recipe and its definitely better to know it came out good 🙂

  7. Hi… I looked over the recipe to check for number of portions… maybe I missed it…. are the ingds for the standard 4 portions?

    Thnx

    Yes, Sharon. They are for 4 standard portions, when served with Rice or Bread/Roti/Naan.

  8. HI, been watching out all yr recipes and this specially was great. I had guests at home and wanted some good innovative starter, so instead of the gravy part i kept it dried and baked it instead, received so many good words that thought shuld definitely thank you for the effort.
    Thanx,
    P.s. I changed the stuffing to just half mashed potatoes, panner, finely chopped onion, bread crumbs and bell peppers.

    Priya

  9. Hi Vee,

    I would love to try this recipe, but wanted to know how long do we bake the stuffed tomatoes for, and at what temp.?

    New to baking so please bear with me. 🙂

    Thanks,
    Shipra

Leave a Reply

