The Call for puri…answered.

All inmates, please gather around. Madam has announced a puri party for all bloggers. And when ever Madam beckons, we must follow. What other choice do we have? For at risk is another post from her highness with a long, angry and totally appropriate rant and no recipe at the end. We don’t want to go through that again. And so, we must mix and we must knead and we must roll and we must deep-fry and then try to gulp down those deep fried goodness dipped in some bhaji. It is not going to be easy but we have to do it. It is for the greater good after all.

And so my family did something that they usually go through only once a month. They sat down for a puri- bhaji breakfast. The sacrifices they make for this food blogging world that I have entrenched myself into brings a ache to my heart. Or it just might be all that peanut oil. I will never know. So here goes, Anita, all for you and your son and your cat.

Poori bhaji

Now, puri with the potato bhaji is breakfast, but puri with anything else is dinner at my house. don’t ask me why. It is how it has always been and how it will always be. The spouse just enjoys his puri dipped in coffee. I need the bhaji with it and there are rigorous training sessions with my kids to make sure they like their puris just like mom does. It is working on the son, not on the daughter. Traitor!

And now as I am helping myself to the cooled puris off my plate, what with the photographs and all, I am thinking maybe Anita’s rants are not all bad. If fact, Anita, I think you should have more of these. Let the anger out baby and let’s Party!!!

13 thoughts on “The Call for puri…answered.

  1. Hey Vee, kya stylish bhaji hai-love that mirchi staring at me πŸ™‚ whats a bhaji without mirchi. there are two ways to enjoy a poori bhaji in my opinion: either you enjoy the bhaji with poori (the bread), or you just enjoy poooooori (whole) bhaji and lick the bowl clean ;).

    Ah, You are a bhaji lover, too. Good, the more the merrier. But then what is the bhaji without the puri? So, here s game to play at the party. What came first, puri or Bhaji?

  2. Madam’s wish is our command. the pathway to heaven is paved with that lustrous bhaji. your spouse prefers plain puri without THAT????

    COFFEE. That’s right. You need the puris to be VERY crisp, so that when dipped, they fillup with coffee without going too soggy and then bite into them. Kind of like the kharis of Bombay, if you remember. Thus, they also need to be the ones that puff up completely which is why on my plate above , you see the malformed ones. Not they are any bad.

  3. Hehe…again a hilarious post :))..Puri with coffee?? Now that is something different…

    Yes, it definitely is different. I have stopped taking the totally ignoring od the bhaji personally. It just means more bhaji for me πŸ˜€

  4. What cat? You wish! They are nearly extinct!

    First she comes in just in the nick of time and then she has all these ‘titles’ for me…I was Ma, now I am Madam…But I am happy to see you and your family made it to the party! Yes, der aaye durust aaye!

    After the spiel about posts without recipes, where’s yours?! πŸ˜†

    Ah, but darling, I have always had posts without recipes. On your blog it was a novelty. Recipe to be updated soon, I was just in a hurry to get it out so that I can join the pary ! πŸ˜€

  5. Pingback: What a Party! « A Mad Tea Party

  6. Vee, I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one who views a certain someone as She Who Must Be Obeyed :)! I’m glad you heeded the call for certain—that’s one gorgeous photograph.
    I’m fully confident that you will succeed in training *both* of the children in the Proper Ways of Things.
    And now, onto your post on malai kofta, that’s been taunting me every time I’ve checked in periodically to see if they’re ready yet…
    (putting eyes back in head, tongue back in mouth)
    Thanks so much again for the lovely pooris!

  7. Vee, it’s the same for us here, pooris are always dinner, never for breakfast!:))
    Kids both eat Bhaji with toast but don’t like the “greasy stuff”!;P
    Looks great, we should be frying more! or NOT!!:D

Leave a Reply

