Stuffed Chillies.

I have had mind-boggling two weeks which along with the weather hasn’t helped my disposition at all.

Really groggy weather in my neck of the woods right now. It is not raining but it seems likes it would rain any minute now and its been like that for the past three days without a drop of rain. The greenery seems to be going brown without going through the customary color change and that is just sad. For fall is not fall until the colors come in. Three weeks into september and I am already missing summer. The weird weather is to blame. There is slight chill in the air. Not much but enough to send the kids into the customary change of season cold. I am already dreading the winter this season.

The weather, though, has had me craving for deep-fried stuff all week. I am resolutely ignoring it. Thinking ahead, I am saving myself for Diwali, you see. Maybe if I abstain for the next month, I can gorge away the diwali goodies guilt-free. One can always hope. Sedentary lifestyles make you plan ahead for these things. But I digress. I was talking about the last two weeks.

Early on, as soon as I posted about the sweet appe, my blender died on me. Serves me right for cribbing about it in the last two posts. I had a good GE model with a coffee grinder attachment which had served me well the past 4 years. With the kind of use I have made of it, I am surprised it took so long for it to give up on me. But, the whole thing was disappointing. I always thought that the day it dies on me would be the day I have a dozen people for dinner. There I would be trying to grind up a heavenly curry paste and it would blast out, make horrible sounds, keep sputtering and the red light that signifies the machine is on would fade away slowly, kind of like the eye of the terminator at the end of each movie. And that I would see my dream of an Indianised Martha Stewartesque meal fading away with that light. O, the horror! O, the pain! If nothing so melodramatic, I thought that it would at least do me the favor of dying a spectacular death with the top flying away and the stuff that I was trying to grind hitting the roof and coming down in a shower. You know, a shower of strawberry smoothie early in the morning would be a spectacular way to start a day, wouldn’t it? But alas, no such luck. It just sputtered and ground itself to halt, never to make a peep again. Why? Because.

So anyway, I am having the biggest internal debate. I have decided to take this oppurtunity to invest in either an Indian mixer/grinder or the wet grinder. I can’t decide between the two. So I have decided to make it a democratic decision. I invite my readers to please vote for either so that I can finally decide. Yes, the word decide is on my mind too much these days. The Libran moon is up, my friends.

While you guys are voting on that, you could also comment on how one should deal with a 3 year old when you trying to talk to him about a certain not-good-boy thing he did and he replies,

“I don’t want to talk about it”.

To say, I was flabbergasted would be putting it mildly. I was completely dumb-founded and had no idea how to proceed. I stood there mute, actually feeling the sting of the ‘chaata‘ I would have got from my parents in such scenarios. They same ‘chaata‘ that they never got a chance to dispense, btw. He hasn’t repeated the action, but I would still like to be more prepared for statements like that one in case they make an appearance again. I still haven’t thought of a good retort. Yep, amazing two weeks I have had.

I decided to stuff my misery, my undecisiveness and my complete lack of ability to overcome a 3 year old among other stuff into some Anahiem Peppers and have a good dinner, instead. This decision was the easy part.

Stuffed Chillies

Recipe:

1)

Prep the chillies. Make a small horizontal cut,parallel to the stem about 1 cm below it. Make a vertical slit perpendicular to the first slit to the tip of the pepper. OPen up the pepper gently and remove all the seeds inside. I don’t remove the ribs. Sprinkle some salt on the peppers and keep it aside while you prepare the stuffing. The salting is an optional step. I do it because it softens the peppers just enough to allow it to cook quicker.

2) For the Stuffing. Mix

1/2 cup Besan/Chickpea Flour
1/4 cup Fresh Coconut gratings
1/4 cup Peanut powder
1 tsp Coriander Powder/Dhaniya
1/4 tsp Turmeric/Haldi
1 tsp Peanut Oil
a pinch Asafetida/Hing
Salt to taste
Juice from One lemon

together to almost form a dough. This stuffing is enough for 6 medium length peppers.

3) Gently stuff the dough into the chillies.

4) In a 8′ pan, heat a tsp of oil and spread it all over the pan’s surface . Add

a pinch of hing

Place the peppers on pan so that they are not overlapping. Immediately lower the flame, cover and cook for about ten minutes on each side. The time taken to cook would depend upon the amount of stuffing in your chillies. The steam and juices from the pepper should go through the stuffing right to its center. Make a cut on one of the chillies to make sure it has cooked all the way through. There is nothing good about uncooked besan. Enjoy.

pic_0612-contrast

29 thoughts on “Stuffed Chillies.

  1. Kids, eh? I don’t know how to deal with them, but mixie – Preethi Chefpro plus. Its going steady even after my husband’s bachelor days and my “experimental cooking” days, for about 6 yrs. I have nothing to complain abt!
    Its funny how our mood reflects on the food. When we are angry we think abt chillies, when moody, something deep-fried to eat our way out of depression, when we are happy a decadent treat ;)… Ahhh, Vee. You got me thinking so early in the day!

    Preethi chef pro plus, heh? I had not considered that. I just looked it up and they a like 5-6 jars. Do you end up using moer than one and do you ever use the juicer that comes with it? I like the fact that it survived the bachelor years but then that;s assuming the said bachelors used it. πŸ˜€

  2. HHHHHOT!!! πŸ˜€

    I love them. I eat Jalepeno Poppers from a local restaurant all the time. Love the Indian one too.

    I just bought Sumeet few month’s ago from Canada.They will send within a week, no shipping! I have posted the photo and link too.Never buy Preethi, c..p!
    Check my post; A BAKE, A SHAKE, A CAKE AND A SALAD!!!

    Mail coming your way

  3. Anaheim peppers are new to me:) but I loved your recipe, and I bet my mom would too!! I posted about Stuffed Capsicums a week ago, and they came out well..we make bell peppers with besan very often….

  4. Anaheim peppers must have tasted good with stuffing, i use them for making bajjis often. Will try this for sure. I made some bharwa bell peppers last weekend :). I can imagine the “sting” when a lil’ kid says something so stern…..have seen the stunned look on my friend’s face so many times…..and have gone through it myself too from my friends’ kids! The bitter-sweet thing that life is :).

    Yes, bitter sweet indeed. but then, such is life. kya kare, duniya mein aaye hai to ….

    OK Ok its not that bad. Except for stuff like this that they bring up once in a while that a total knocker. πŸ™‚

  5. I just love the way you think..err..write! Your dream was my reality – I have had the pleasure of that shower from a broken blender once. It wasn’t anything as sweet as smoothie making my hair sticky but it was mint chutney making me almost go blind type. Yeah, not so pleasent. But I don’t want to talk about it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    The stuffed chilies look delicious.

    Mint chutney! I bet you don’t like mint chutneys so much now, huh. I wouldn’t blame you for not wanting to talk about it. πŸ™‚ yeah, yeah, rub it in.

  6. A sumeet mixi and a wet grinder. To me both are indispensable. no mixer/grinder can really do justice to ildi/dose batter. one convenience with a wet grinder is dunk everything in it and leave it alone. Just scrape the sides once in a way.
    mixi is a must for chutneys, spice powders…
    decisions decisions. if you have the space for it, get both. you’ll never regret it

    You cannot believe how tempting it is to go for both. Don’t make me do this…… Ahhhhhhhhhhh . With the amount of idli and dosas I make , I really should go for a wet grinder I think and buy an OK blender that Manisha suggests. OR maybe just get both. Aargh…

  7. Stuffed chillies look hot and delicious! I love hot and spicy !! πŸ™‚
    No experience with kids…so would not be able to help you there.
    I have a Sumeet which i bought from Canada..just like Asha did and I can say with confidence that its the best! My mom’s Sumeet has been running for years and so I would not even try any other brand. πŸ™‚

    Hot and spicy they are, Tee. Thanks for the sumeet recommendation. I will keep it in mind. What about the wet grinder? any thoughts on that?

  8. i would say go for sumeet but if you are more on cooking dosas and iddilis having a grinder would add a plus to you too πŸ™‚

    Oh thats a great help, Roopa. Now I am more torn between the two! Bad, bad, girl.

  9. vee, he’s your son. and the child is father of the mom, so forget about trying to respond to him. just change the topic.

    Bee, if what he had done wrong was a small thing this would work which it was in this case. But in more serious cases I would like to be more prepared. And then I have Anoushka getting ready to take over where Aayush leaves off and she being more like me is a much bigger challenge. πŸ˜€

  10. Hey Vee, you don’t need a retort. You need a wise look and a knowledgeable Hmmm! followed by “You know you can talk to me about anything, right? So how about when you are ready? Like maybe tomorrow? Or even in another hour? Promise me you will talk to me? I won’t scold you if that is what you are afraid of. But I think we should talk. And you know I love you, right?” It’s worked wonders for us and she knows that when it is really serious, there’s no yelling, just a discussion. But I think in your heart, you really do know what you should do!

    Hey Bee! Changing the topic lets him get away with it and sets a precedent for future behavior. I don’t know about Aayush but my daughter filed these things away in the recesses of her brain, only to whip them out later. “Last time you said…” or “Last time you did…” Arrrgh!

    As for your blender story, dunno. I haven’t bought a Sumeet yet even though it’s on my wishlist as is a Preeti. What I look at is the wattage of the motor and buy two. So I have a 600W something (GE perhaps? no clue right now!) – for which I paid less than $30 at Sam’s and it’s been going strong for 3 or 4 years now. It does a reasonable job of idli atta and chutneys. And should it die, I will pull the other one out of storage. The Magic Bullet is also handy for grinding small quantities and blending several different things one after the other without having the flavors or smells mingle.

    Enjoy the weather. It’s better than a hurricane! πŸ˜€

    Thx for the vote of confidence, Manisha. Eventually, after I found my voice, I did ask him if we could talk about it later. I had already mentally readied myself for a lot of comebacks from him. See, I am even prepared for the last time thing you mention about Medha, but, by god, I wasn’t expecting the ‘don’t want to talk about it’ thing so soon. I very much like the ‘wise look and a knowledgeable Hmmm! ‘ thing. I am going to practice that in front of the mirror for a few days before I start using it . πŸ˜€

    Re, the blender. Yeah, I could go for the high wattage blender again and I may do that if I settle for the wet grinder. I moving more towards the wet grinder because the only breakfast my husband eats is dosa, idlis and appe. Yeah, he is a proper south indian. Since I need to make the batter every other day, that seems to be a more viable option. But then the chutneys and masala thing comes to mind and I veer towards the sumeet. Ahhh…

    Hurricane, what hurricane? You have a hurricane coming your way?

  11. Ooh Vee, a 3 year old? Now I have deal with that dialog with in a year? Gosh! I thought that was may be in their teen years. Ah ! naive me.

    Btw, the stuffed chilli looks delicious. My husband loves chillies in any form and this should impress him. Thanks for the recipe.

    Oh yes, be prepared for evrything and anything. ‘cos they pack a punch and they go on packing it like a energiser bunny. πŸ™‚

  12. Stuffed chillies looks wonderful and seem to exactly what you needed after the ‘ idont want to talk…..’ thing.
    Things will be better….

    Hmmm, I never made the co-relation. But, now that I think about it whats on the menu almost always goes with my mood of the day. it’s amazing how all my readers are picking upon it. πŸ˜€

  13. Vee,
    You will be happy with Sumeet. I bought last year in Dadar, Mumbai and lots of dry/wet grinding attachments for chutney and grinding dry colambe pitti are available in Mumbai and US Desi stores. Some stores have 110v also. I made extension outlet in kitchen (if you have or had 220v electric stove and I converted to gas stove as all houses in CA have gas connection) and Garage where electric dryer connection. or you can use transformer from 220v to 110v. OR you can buy 110v Summeet in US for double the price. For other like Philips or prithi attachments or gaskets are hard to find at Desi stores, as you will need these parts because they are made of hard rubbers and attachment connection to the base motor is via hard rubber, (unlike Osterizer which has metal contact ) you get here and use attachment which are available here in Desi stores or any part store at Dadar Western side(I burnt one so far). I and my wife-S are very happy with Sumeet and it is going and going……..Not gone yet!

    btw How come time difference bet calif and your place is seven hours? East coast is just 3 hours ahead. Every time I send comment, I noticed that 7-hours ahead, may be your ISP server seems to be in mid-Atlantic !

  14. btw I have wet grinder also, Three years ago I brought Whiteline but it is a piece of junk. I think the way design is made makes difference. Six months ago I brought Laxmi table top, we grind idli peeth and masoloo and chutney also. So it seems very good so far. I bought that at the recommendation from my niece who is using for last three years.

  15. I read all the above comments and my suggestion will be follows.

    Buy a sumeet mixer at present as it will solve all present problems. As your hubby needs a south Indian breakfast, it grinds idli and polo peeth very well. Masoloo and chutney is excellent.

    Next i recommend a Santa “Maestro” tabletop grinder. It is 2 lts . My mom has been using it for years and i am planning to buy it too. Please buy the one which has a grinding vessel fitted on top of the machine. Looks and works good. The vessel can be easily removed and washed in the sink. Please do not buy the traditional old one.

    http://www.bombaylimited.com/customer/product.php?productid=20389&cat=307&page=1

  16. Your kid is too sweet. He reminded me of my cousin’s son :). He is so naughty and his some of answers bowls us off :D. Good that you write all these here Vee. It will definitely help me in future :).

    I would suggest Sumeet mixer too. I am using it for last couple of months and it is amazing. But only thing I hate about it is its lid. It has a lid with handle and I would have loved their Indian models with flat lids.

  17. Vee..same abt the climate here..change to pleasant weather is welcome but has left our family with bad cough and cold too!
    Reg. Mirchi, lovely recipe, beautiful pic! Shall surely try it, once our cold subsides.
    Re: Mixie..i vote for wet grinder and Sumeet! Gud for Idli-Dosa batter!
    We hv Sumeet in Mumbai bought in mid of 1980, got spoilt after a decade only..its too sturdy. In the Middle East, most of us use National mixers as it comes with steel jar, mine has been going on since past 5 years.(Inspite of regular udad daal grinding..its been truly sturdy! Surviving the bacherlor handling too! πŸ˜‰ ) One tip from my amma while grinding udad dal..the stickiness of udad tends to spoil mixers, hence its better to complete the soaking part of udad daal refrigerated. Cooled udad smoothens the grinding process and the heat generated will b less.
    { My Amma’s words- “Paley, udidu masta unto asta, monu timbat ghalunu sheeeda fridge-antu davorka,vattuchey velyari sheeda fridgeaa dakkunu mixer-antu ghalunu vattunu kadka..kalley nave” πŸ˜‰ Surveka udidu vatti tajje magiri tandulu vattuka..phoorai antu vatta..mixer ghasuchya kashta jaayna–this statement was in my college years!!}
    Re : Aayush–I know they repeat things they hear from peers, or from outside, how much it may shock or sting you, have to keep a cool face not react and when they are happy or playful somehow have to makeup a story with imaginary character who said the same thing and was disliked by everyone,tagged as bad boy or something to that effect..it works..For my kid who is to b 3 next month, this does..Manisha too has a very good suggestion…tks for writing abt this and thanks for the lovely commenters too! I m sharing my experience above. (Chadaa deega comment jalley pls don’t mind!) best rgds-Purnima

    Re

  18. So here I am, to wish your husband a very Happy Birthday! To wish your sister, my astro-twin, a belated Happy Birthday! And, most of all, to give you my belated Birthday wishes for what I hope was a wonderful day! Think about it! *You* get to start off the celebrations! How cool is that!

    Happy Birthday to all of you!

    And, I, too, am never going to forget any of your birthdays!

  19. I dont know how I missed this post. Rains are around the corner in Madras – stuffed chillies sounds like an awesome idea πŸ˜€

    Dont have kids of my own yet – so I dont think I can actually tell you what to do :D.

    the 3 year old’s retort reminds me of my brother – who doesn’t want to talk about a lot of things πŸ˜€ – he just likes to be terribly private – for such children “let’s talk” may connote “interference” or “authority”. i usually let it pass for sometime and bring it up casually at another opportunity.

    One of the reasons I used to choose “not to talk” with my parents as a kid is because these “let’s talk” sessions become sermons or scolding sessions. An assurance that the conversation is going to be mild, moderate, peaceful and because you “love” and blah blah helps (my amma’s trick – πŸ˜€ )

    I have a year old Philips – love it. Amma has an ancient Sumeet – white bottom, red top, it looks beautiful – she hasn’t changed this since her marriage. Even the “later acquisition” of a Food Processor dint diminish her devotion towards Sumeet. My Appa routinely does some unthinkable things to the jar though on his experiments – Amma always manages to get it repaired.

  20. Vee, aaji haave stuf.chi try kelli..hatta anikayi ujjo yetta assa..kasane ruchi..I had dessicated coconut hence I used more limes(3 to b precise) and 5 tsp of oil. Crispy outcome wt soft chillies! Tks for the lovely post.

  21. Hi! just read this post and i hope I am not too late responding. I bought a preethi last year (have posted it too)….and I have a friend who bought a sumeet. Performance wise, sumeet is better, though preethi is almost as good. I just found the lids a little annoying. they clasp on real tight and wouldnt come out easily. Also, my pulse button stopped working a few months back. I like the juicer that comes with preethi and use it everyday. It does a good job. Sumeet does not have that option.
    I also have the ultra pride wet grinder and love love love it. I got it from India, comverted to 110v. But you get the same thing at innoconcepts.com. Hope this helps.

  22. Sumeet is unavailable in India now, a fact I found out when I wanted to replace my 15 yr old Sumeer – I was heartbroken…..So, if you get it over there, just buy it eyes closed – except of course check whether they have adequate service options in your area. Also check for a good wattage. Philips would be my nexy choice.
    If you have such a large requirement for idli, dosa batter (daily basis) I suggest you dont tax the Sumeet and rather extends its life by going in additionally for a table top wet grinder like Ultra or some other known brand. Mouthshut.com does good reviews. Dont think of it as an additional thing, you seem you will use it well.

    The stuffed chillies look awesome and the stuffing is really interesting!

    About your 3 yr old ,what can I say, I am still trying to deal with a 2.4 yr old who told me “later Amma” when I tried to give her a time out!!! Good luck! πŸ™‚

  23. Hi,

    Tried this recipe recently and everyone loved it.

    The only thing I did a little differently was to put in a mix of peppers–Anaheim, Jalapeno, the long mirchis that we get at the deshi, and a mix of all the Mexican peppers I could find at Kroger! The whole ensemble actually worked fine as people kind of had an a` la carte choice in one dish!!

    Thanks for sharing your recipes.

    Wow, Sharon! I love the idea of making them with the mix of different peppers. That way people who prefer the spicier ones can have what they want as well the ones who prefer the milder ones! Cool. This is why I love blogging, it opens up the same recipes in a different light because of the way somebody else uses them. Thanks for trying them and thanks very much for the idea.

Leave a Reply

